Highways and Byways

I used to be afraid of highway driving when I was younger. If it involved a highway, I wasn’t going. As time passed, I learned,  if I wanted to go to certain places or events, I’d better get used to driving on a highway. I became accustomed to the hustle and bustle of the highways and byways.

Life, like highways and byways, can be stressful and crowded at times. Or we can be afraid of thr challenges before us. There are so many needs and responsibilities and the day goes by in a blur.  We have become accustomed to life in the fast lane day after day.

We just need some peace and rest!

As always, there is a solution. We read in God’s word in Luke 14.23,  “Then the lord said unto the servant,  “Go out into the highways and hedges, and compel them to come to in, that my house may be filled”.  How cool is that?  The God of the universe is opening his home to us. The God of the universe is extending an invitation to all who desire his peace and rest.

Read the story in Luke 14 for yourself and you’ll see  many persons didn’t want Gods offer to come to his home.  It’s no different today.   I don’t know about you but I don’t plan to be one of the persons who doesn’t want Gods offer to come to his home. I dont want to reject God’s offer of salvation and rest.  For me, there’s no place I’d rather be.

Leave a Reply

